July 29- Update

August 3rd is right around the corner! Here are next steps to get more involved:

  1. Share our pledge and promotional video with at least 10 family members, friend or people in your network
  2. Join our Facebook Group to meet others who are taking action and receive updates
  3. Register for our Informational Webinar, Thursday July 30th at 7pm ET/ 4pm PT (see below for details)
  4. Read out updates and tools below!


Donald Trump and
the Republican Party
Continue to drive their agenda of fully reopening schools
EVEN AS THE PANDEMIC WORSENS ACROSS THE COUNTRY

Last week, the Trump Administration announced “new” CDC guidelines on the reopening of schools in a clear political move to undermine the case against safe, healthy and equitable reopening of schools. Most of our schools and school districts are not ready to physically reopen yet. On Tuesday, Florida reported that more than 300 children have been hospitalized with coronavirus infections, and yet their governor is still not backing down on the physical reopening of schools.  

At the same time, the Republican party announced a new stimulus proposal which includes a shameful $30 billion for elementary and secondary public schools AND includes $10billion to private elementary and secondary schools.

Join us for our Webinar on Thursday !

We are having an organizing call on Thursday July 30th, 4pm PST/ 6pm CT/ 7pm EST for everyone who is joining the day of action! Here is the registration link for the webinar. We want to make sure we all come together to plan and build together. We hope everyone who is planning or participating in an action joins the webinar. This webinar will be hosted by the Center for Popular Democracy, Journey for Justice, Alliance for Educational Justice and others, and will provide updates on plans for Aug 3, have local organizations sharing examples of some of their actions being planned on Aug 3, and provide information on how to join and be involved.




Tools to Take Action?

BELOW ARE RESOURCES AND IMPORTANT INFORMATION AROUND THE AUG 3 NATIONAL DAY OF RESISTANCE.


Website: Please visit and encourage friends, colleagues, and community members to visit www.demandsafeschools.org to pledge support and to receive updates on the National Day of Resistance. The website will be updated soon to include the list of actions and cities/locations for you to plug into.  

Toolkit: Here is the Day of Resistance (Aug 3) Action toolkit, which includes messaging guidance, the demands, a guide to taking action, a robust social media toolkit, and even more key resources.

Video and flyer: Please see the attached flyer and promotional Day of Resistance (Aug 3) video (also included in the toolkit).

PLEASE REACH OUT to AUGUST3ANDBEYOND@GMAIL.COM IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR UPDATES REGARDING YOUR PARTICIPATION ON THE NATIONAL DAY OF RESISTANCE.

#EdEquityOrElse #DemandSafeSchools #PoliceFreeSchools